Date: Sun 11 Aug 2019

Landslide wins for OLRG District Council candidates

We are delighted to report that all three of OLRG's candidates have been elected to Tandridge District Council with landslide wins. It was very encouraging to see the strength of the vote and we would like to say a huge thank you to everyone who helped to make this happen.

OLRG Candidates - Tandridge District Council May 2019 elections

In Limpsfield, Claire Blackwell was elected and now joins OLRG's Phil Davies as a fellow Ward Councillor. The vote was:

Claire Blackwell, Oxted & Limpsfield Residents Group: 1043

Richard Adamson, Conservative: 349

Martin Caxton, Liberal Democrats: 89

In Oxted South, Chris Langton was elected and now joins OLRG's Lynn Mills as a fellow Ward Councillor. The vote was:

Chris Langton, Oxted & Limpsfield Residents Group: 1282

Alan Feesey, Conservative: 334

Helena Forsythe, Social Democratic Party: 148

Che Ramsden, Labour: 142

Jonathan Salisbury, Liberal Democrats: 119

In Oxted North & Tandridge, David Stamp was elected and now joins OLRG's Jackie Wren and Catherine Sayer as a fellow Ward Councillor. The vote was:

David Stamp, Oxted & Limpsfield Residents Group: 1584

Martin Fisher, Conservative: 578

Sheelagh Crampton, Liberal Democrats: 111

Patrick Rogers, Labour: 63

In addition, two more Independents were elected: Charlotte Swann in Godstone Ward and Colin White in Burstow, Horne and Outwood.

Independent Liz Lockwood held her seat in Lingfield and Crowhurst with a majority of 553 votes.

The result means that the Conservatives have lost control of the Council although they still have the largest party.